Courses

Classroom + Written Permit Test + Behind the Wheel Packages

We offer 4 packages for TEEN drivers that includes 30 Hours Classroom, Written Permit Test PLUS 6, 8, or 10 hours of one-on-one driving lessons.

Start Smart Driving Academy’s 30-hour classroom instruction is based upon a State of Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles approved curriculum which includes topics such as:

  • Graduated Driver Licensing laws (GDL), Basic Driving Techniques, Lane Usage
  • Traffic Accidents, Defensive Driving, Night Driving
  • Signs and Signals, Road Markings, Sharing the Road
  • Alcohol/Drugs and Driving
  • City/Mountain/Rural/Highway Driving and Driving in Adverse Conditions

Behind the Wheel Training

Driving Behind the WheelOur behind the wheel training provides driving instruction in a variety of environments including a minimum of 2 hours of city driving, 2 hours of mountain driving, and 2 hours of highway/merging driving. Our behind the wheel training is customized to fit each student’s needs. All of our school vehicles are equipped with cameras for safety. The BTW training includes 1 student per session, allowing personalized training.

The skills learned in the BTW training include:

  • Starting, Stopping, Steering, Turning
  • Merging, Lane Positioning, Lane Changes, Parking
  • City driving, Rural driving, Highway driving, Mountain driving

The State of Colorado requires a MINIMUM 6 hours behind the wheel training for teens 16 years 6 months or younger.

JUST THE CLASS AND PERMIT TEST: 30 Hours of Class + Written Permit Test: $162 (6 Hours Of Behind The Wheel Lessons Can Be Added On Later For An Additional $300 For A Total Of $462).

START PACKAGE: 30 Hours of Class, Written Permit Test, 6 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $395

SMART PACKAGE: 30 Hours of Class, Written Permit Test, 8 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $480

ACADEMY PACKAGE: 30 Hours of Class, Written Permit Test, 10 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $560

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings!

A 60% deposit is required upon registration with payment in full due at first class. Credit cards or cash only please.

ONLINE (SELF-PACED) COURSE PACKAGES

We offer 4 ONLINE packages for new drivers that includes the 30 Hours online self-paced course.

The Start Smart Driving Academy’s Online Driver’s Education course is a convenient, self-paced program to earn your Colorado learner’s permit. You can now earn your driving permit online with easy to follow lessons that work around your school and sports schedules. Our new online course can be completed at your own speed and on any computer or portable device, when it’s convenient for you. Our State of Colorado approved 30-Hour online course coincides with the same curriculum that we use in our classroom. The course lessons include topics such as:

  • Graduated Driver Licensing laws (GDL)
  • Basic Driving Techniques
  • Lane Usage
  • Traffic Accidents
  • Alcohol/Drugs and Driving
  • Defensive Driving
  • Night Driving
  • City/Mountain/Rural/Highway Driving
  • Signs and Signals
  • Road Markings
  • Driving in Adverse Conditions
  • Sharing the Road

Please note that the State requirement is 30 hours education in the classroom or online plus a MINIMUM 6 hours of behind the wheel instruction for teens 16 years 6 months or younger.

ONLINE COURSE ONLY: $80 – A written permit test can be added for only $15 to this package.

ONLINE START PACKAGE: 30 Hour Online Self-Paced Course, Written Permit Test, 6 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Lessons: $350

ONLINE SMART PACKAGE: 30 Hour Online Self-Paced Course, Written Permit Test, 8 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Lessons: $430

ONLINE ACADEMY PACKAGE: 30 Hour Online Self-Paced Course, Written Permit Test, 10 Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Lessons: $500

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings!

 

ATTENTION: Please give Start Smart Driving Academy up to 1 business day to get your student activated and enrolled in the online course. We will then email you the login information, including online course URL, user ID, and password. Once the online course is completed, the written permit test can be taken at our driving school location (14 years 11 months minimum age to take written permit test). Then you will have all of the State of CO driver education documents to take to the DMV to obtain your permit (15 years old minimum age).

A 60% deposit or payment in full is required upon registration. Credit cards or cash only please.

We offer three different options for our 4 Hour Classes!

4 Hour Driver Awareness Course + Written Permit Test: $80

Our 4-hour State of Colorado approved Driver Awareness Course is designed for students 15 years 6 months and older to obtain their learner’s permit. The written permit test is included!

This fast-paced class includes hands-on learning opportunities to enhance the student’s learning experience. Our driver awareness course covers topics such as vehicle controls, maintenance, and cost of driving. Additionally, the class will cover defensive driving, signs and signals, construction zones, basic driving maneuvers, distractions while driving, the risks of alcohol/drugs and driving, as well as aggressive driving and road rage.

Students are encouraged to read the Colorado Driver Handbook prior to attending class. Immediately following class, the State of Colorado Written permit test will be administered.

4 Hour Driver Awareness Course + Written Permit Test + 2 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $199

This package includes our 4-hour State of Colorado approved Driver Awareness Course that is designed for students 15 years 6 months and older to obtain their learner’s permit + written permit test + a 2-hour behind the wheel driving lesson.

This fast-paced class includes hands-on learning opportunities to enhance the student’s learning experience. Our driver awareness course covers topics such as vehicle controls, maintenance, and cost of driving. Additionally, the class will cover defensive driving, signs and signals, construction zones, basic driving maneuvers, distractions while driving, the risks of alcohol/drugs and driving, as well as aggressive driving and road rage.

Students are encouraged to read the Colorado Driver Handbook prior to attending class. Immediately following class, the State of Colorado Written permit test will be administered.

The 2-hour behind the wheel driving lesson will give the student a good foundation for their future driving experiences. Driving permit must be obtained prior to the student’s driving lesson.

4 Hour Driver Awareness Course + Written Permit Test + 6 Hours Behind the Wheel Training: $380

This package includes our 4-hour State of Colorado approved Expanded Driver Awareness Course that is designed for students 15 years 6 months and older to obtain their learner’s permit + written permit test + 6 hours behind the wheel driving lessons.

This fast-paced class includes hands-on learning opportunities to enhance the student’s learning experience. Our driver awareness course covers topics such as vehicle controls, maintenance, and cost of driving. Additionally, the class will cover defensive driving, signs and signals, construction zones, basic driving maneuvers, distractions while driving, the risks of alcohol/drugs and driving, as well as aggressive driving and road rage.

Students are encouraged to read the Colorado Driver Handbook prior to attending class. Immediately following class, the State of Colorado Written permit test will be administered.

Our 6 hours of behind the wheel training provides driving instruction in a variety of environments and circumstances. Our behind the wheel training is customized to fit each student’s needs. The BTW training includes 1 student per session, allowing personalized training. Driving permit must be obtained prior to the student’s driving lessons.

MINIMUM 3 STUDENTS TO HOLD CLASS.

Start Smart Driving Academy can move students one class session if needed.

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings!

Behind the Wheel Training

Our behind the wheel training provides driving instruction in a variety of environments and circumstances. Our behind the wheel training is customized to fit each student’s needs. The BTW training includes 1 student per session, allowing personalized training. All of our school vehicles are equipped with cameras for safety. A valid Colorado Learner’s Permit is required to obtain BTW training.

We offer a variety of BTW driving packages that will provide exposure to various environments, practicing vital driving techniques to help create a safe and aware driver. The skills learned in the BTW training include:

  • Starting
  • Stopping
  • Turning
  • Steering
  • Merging
  • Parking
  • Lane positioning
  • City driving
  • Highway driving
  • Mountain Driving

(1) One Hour of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $70
(2) Two Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $140
(4) Four Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $280
(6) Six Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $370 (This package includes 1 attempt of the State of CO Drive Test)
(8) Eight Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $420
(10) Ten Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $500
(20) Twenty Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $1000
(50) Fifty Hours of Behind-The-Wheel Training: $2,500Let Start Smart handle all 50 hours of the required BTW driving, including 10 hours of night driving.

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment (applies to 8+ hour packages only). That’s a $30 savings!

A 60% deposit is required upon registration for any of the BTW training above with payment in full due at first BTW lesson. Credit cards or cash only please.

 

Westernaires/4H CLASSROOM Special – $485

The Westernaires/4H Classroom Special combines our most popular package for new drivers – it includes 30 hours of classroom, 6 hours one-on-one driving instruction, plus an additional 2 hours of trailer towing instruction when you get your license at 16 years old.

This classroom curriculum is based upon the Pearson “Drive Right” textbook. The 6 hours of behind the wheel (BTW) training provides the driving instruction as required by the State of Colorado.

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings!

A 60% deposit is required upon registration with payment in full due at first class.

 

 

Westernaires/4H ONLINE Special – $440

The Westernaires/4H ONLINE Special combines our most popular package for new drivers – it includes the 30-hour online self-paced course, 6 hours one-on-one driving instruction, plus an additional 2 hours of trailer towing instruction when you get your license at 16 years old.

The online course curriculum is based upon the Pearson “Drive Right” textbook. The 6 hours of behind the wheel (BTW) training provides the driving instruction as required by the State of Colorado.

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings!

A 60% deposit is required upon registration with payment in full due when online course is completed.

 

Pay-As-You-Go Packages

We offer pay-as-you-go convenience on several of our most popular packages. These packages offer flexibility in being able to make payments as you go. For these packages, we require 50% deposit of total tuition for the 6-hour and 50-hour packages as deposit. Then the remaining payments listed below are paid as you go, which makes it easier to budget over time.

We offer pay-as-you-go on the following:

6 Hours Behind The Wheel Training Pay As You Go – Total package price $415 **Includes 1 attempt of State of CO drive test. Our 6 hours behind the wheel training provides driving instruction in a variety of environments and circumstances. Our behind the wheel training is customized to fit each student’s needs. The BTW training includes 1 student per session, allowing personalized training. All of our school vehicles are equipped with cameras for safety. This pay as you go package requires a 50% deposit of $207.50 upon registration. When the student schedules the 2nd and 3rd BTW lessons, a payment of $103.75 for each lesson is due. This package includes 1 attempt of the State of CO drive test as well!

50 Hours Behind The Wheel Pay As You GoTotal package price $2,600. We offer a pay-as-you-go package that works with our 50 hours of behind the wheel training. Let Start Smart Driving Academy handle all 50 hours of the required BTW driving, including 10 hours of night driving.The pay-as-you-go package offers flexibility of making 3 convenient payments over time. This pay as you go package requires a 50% deposit of $1,300 upon registration. When the student reaches 20 hours BTW, a payment of $650 becomes due. Then when the student reaches 35 hours BTW, a final payment of $650 becomes due.

Students have 1 year to complete the entire 50 hours BTW training.

Please call our office at (720)379-5910 to sign up for the Pay As You Go Packages.

Pick-Up Package

Do you have a crazy busy schedule? Are you wondering how to get your teen to their behind the wheel lessons? Let Start Smart help you out. We will pickup and drop-off your teen at home or a school location for each BTW session. Pickup and drop-off for 1 or 2 (or every!) BTW session.

It’s only $25.00 for each pickup and drop-off. You can add this when you enroll. Just watch for the “Additional Services” menu after you choose the package you want. Pickup/drop off packages have a 5 mile radius limit of Start Smart Driving Academy location. Please call if you have any questions!

***The maximum distance we will travel for the pickup and drop-off is 5 miles from our school location.

Trailer Towing

  • Trailer Towing Program:
    Start Smart Driving Academy is proud to offer a trailer towing program that will not only build your confidence when towing a trailer but will make you look like a professional when backing up any type or length of trailer. Whether you pull a boat, camper, toy-hauler, or horse trailer, this class will give you real-life tools and skills when pulling your trailer safely. The majority of this class is hands-on and will be behind the wheel, maneuvering through cones set up in a parking lot. An important takeaway from this class is you will learn how to back up your trailer with ease as this class is taught by a former semi-truck driver. This class is helpful for men and women, including teenagers, but a valid driver’s license is required for this class. Most of our trailer towing classes are offered on the weekends. This class can be taught to you by a male or female instructor, whichever is comfortable to you. We prefer to use your truck and trailer for this class because you will use it more often and will want to become familiar with the way your rig handles. However, we do have trucks and trailers available for an additional cost.
     
     
    2 hour towing class: $140
    4 hour towing class: $280
     
     
     
     
Call Now Button