Testing

Start Smart Driving Academy is a State of Colorado certified third-party testing site that is certified to administer both the State Driving Test and State Written Permit Test. To obtain a driver’s license, you must obtain a valid learner’s permit first to be able to take a driving test.

For your convenience, we are open Monday-Saturday to administer both the written permit test and State driving test. We prefer appointments but will take walk-ins for testing. Testing appointments will have priority over walk-ins.

Please see below for more information on the requirements to obtain a State of Colorado learner’s permit or State of Colorado Driving Test. Feel free to call us at 720-379-5910 or email us at startsmartdrivingacademy@gmail.com to schedule a time for the written test or driving test or to get more information.

When taking a State of Colorado drive test, you will be tested in accordance to Colorado State law. Please refer to pages 25 & 26 in the Colorado driver handbook to understand what you will graded on during the drive test.  Please see the Colorado driver handbook found here.

 

 

WRITTEN PERMIT TEST – $25 (Cash or Credit Card Accepted, includes 2 attempts)

Start Smart Driving Academy provides the State of Colorado written permit test. Once completing and passing the written exam we will provide you with the paperwork you need to get your permit at the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles. To obtain a State of Colorado permit, the following are requirements for teens and adults:

TEENS

  • At least 14 years 11 months must complete a 30-hour Driver’s Education Course (Online or Classroom) before taking the written permit test. The 30-hour course can be taken at 14 years 6 months old (see COURSES page for more info).
  • 15 Years old – 15 Years 6 Months must complete a 30-hour Driver’s Education Course before taking the written permit test.
  • 15 Years 6 Months but less than 16 Years Old must complete ONE of the following:
    • 30 Hour Driver’s Education Course (Online or Classroom)
    • 4 hour expanded driver awareness program
  • 16 Years – 18 Years No formal education required but the 30-hour course or 4-hour course is suggested.

ADULTS

  • No formal education required. We suggest studying the Colorado Driver Handbook prior to taking the written permit test (see link below). Adults can also take our 4-hour Driver Awareness class or 30-hour Driver’s Education Course (Online or Classroom) for additional education.

Before taking the written test please:

  • Study the Colorado Drivers Handbook located at CO Driver Handbook.
  • Bring a valid CO-issued ID or if you do not have a valid CO-Issued ID, pre-register online (see next item).
  • Pre-register with The State of Colorado to apply for a new license via the following instructions located at https://dmv.colorado.gov/pre-registration and bring the preregistration code with you to your test appointment.

STATE DRIVING TEST – $70 Our Vehicle/$75 Vehicle with Interlock (Cash or Credit Card Accepted)

You can add on a discounted drive test for only $40 if added at time of driver education package enrollment. That’s a $30 savings! Please go to the COURSES tab to enroll in driver education.

The State of CO DMV is no longer conducting any drive tests. But you can often do your driving test the same day or next day with us. We prefer appointments but will accept walk-ins as well. Testing appointments will have priority over walk-ins. To take a driving test, you must have a valid State of Colorado learner’s permit. Our drive test routes are State approved. The drive test, including time to process the DMV paperwork, takes about 45 minutes.

Drive tests can be done in your personal vehicle or in one of our school vehicles. If you have a restricted permit that requires a drive test with Interlock, we will do the drive test in your vehicle with Interlock.

To take the driving test with us you must present these documents prior to taking the test:

  • Valid Permit (See Teen Graduated Driver’s License Requirements Below)
  • Proof of Insurance (only needed if testing in your personal vehicle)
  • Valid Current Vehicle Registration (only needed if testing in your personal vehicle)
  • 50 Hour behind the wheel log required (if under 18)
  • Testing Fee

 

COLORADO TEEN GRADUATED DRIVER’S LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

For teens to qualify to take their drive test, the following are required:

  • 16 years – 16 years 6 months
    • Must hold learner’s permit 1 year from issue date
    • Must log 50 hours behind the wheel (at least 40 daytime and 10 nighttime)
    • Must complete 6 hours behind the wheel training with a driving school
  • 16 years 6 months – 18 years
    • Must hold learner’s permit 1 year from issue date
    • Must log 50 hours behind the wheel (at least 40 daytime and 10 nighttime)
  • 18 years and older
    • No minimum behind the wheel hours or holding period requirements
Call Now Button